That writing lady is here!

9 Feb

Welcome to That Writing Lady, a blog about teaching writing in urban public schools.

I love writing. I love it so much–and for so many reasons–that I have dedicated my adult life to spreading the gospel of creative writing as the executive director of Deep, a nonprofit that runs free writing workshops for inner city public school students.  (Hence the blog name: I frequently find myself in the soup aisle–Ramen noodles being another secret passion of mine–only to be interrupted by a kid I’ve never met before squinting at me, head cocked to the side, asking, “Hey–are you that writing lady?”)

This blog is the story of my journey as a writing teacher and a record of all the helpful hints and tricks my colleagues and I have accumulated to help make your classroom a haven for creativity and learning.

This blog is intended to be practical and useful (and, at times, a little irreverent). Please share your own experiences and ideas in the comments section. I look forward to hearing from you!

3 Responses to “That writing lady is here!”

  1. Mr WordPress February 9, 2012 at 4:27 pm #
  2. jockmackenzie March 4, 2012 at 11:32 pm #

    Congratulations on what appears to be an excellent, inspiring, practical site. I will stop by frequently to see how things are going. Write on!

    • thatwritinglady March 7, 2012 at 10:41 am #

      Thanks so much! I really appreciate the feedback, and I’ll look forward to checking up on your blog in the future, too 🙂

Leave a Reply

