Kids are unhappier today than ever before–and the reason isn’t what you think.

9 Jun

Check out my TEDx talk on kids and happiness! My talk starts at minute 59 of this Livestream:

http://new.livestream.com/tedxcc/tedxcc2013/videos/20844028

7 Responses to “Kids are unhappier today than ever before–and the reason isn’t what you think.”

  1. Loco parentis June 9, 2013 at 9:25 am #

    What a great, inspiring talk!

  2. chefdf June 9, 2013 at 9:42 am #

    Would love to have learned what makes kids unhappy and your advice about it, but my Internet connection is pretty bad where I live. Is there a written transcript of this that I can read? Thank you.

    • thatwritinglady June 9, 2013 at 10:15 am #

      Hi there! I don’t have a transcript, unfortunately, but the essence is this: when we overprotect kids, we make it difficult for them to overcome challenges and thus develop a sense of self-worth. The best thing we can do to make kids happier is to let them make more mistakes and experience more failure; that way, they’ll learn how capable they are (and they’ll be better prepare to face challenges as adults). Thanks for reading!

      • chefdf June 9, 2013 at 10:20 am #

        I appreciate the synopsis of your talk, thank you so much! I think you make great points and I’m enjoying and learning from your blog. I have to stop myself a lot from overprotecting but I fortunately live with a man that constantly reminds me “let him figure it out on his own” and I have to stop myself and say “yeah, you’re right.” I particularly loved your article about why telling kids they are smart is a bad thing and instead “you must have worked hard to make that happen.” It gives them so much more control and self-worth over outcomes. Yet another thing that, after 7 years into parenting I needed to be reminded about. Thank you again for sharing your perspectives. I’m enjoying your blog and sharing with fellow parent friends. 🙂

      • Desina V July 1, 2013 at 9:07 pm #

        Thanks, Catherine. The internet connection out here at the new place is awful, and I was dying to watch and learn, too.

        It’s funny, that’s the gist of the conversation my friend and I just finished having on the phone.

  3. Need to Know Always June 13, 2013 at 9:08 pm #

    Reblogged this on Need to Know Always and commented:
    Need to give kids more challenging things to do and allow them to mess up sometimes.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Serving Ourselves | Serving On - June 21, 2013

    […] highs throughout America today—perhaps most alarming is the steep increase in the frequency of child suicide in recent years. But nearly as staggering is the military rate: every day, 22 veterans commit […]

Leave a Reply

